If you have been injured on the job, your first priority is getting medical care for your injuries. As you recover, of course, you also want to know if you qualify for workers’ compensation benefits. Workers’ compensation benefits can help you cover the cost of your medical bills, as well as compensating you for the time you have missed at work.
While filing a workers’ compensation claim is not your first priority, it should be near the top of your list. California has specific deadlines for reporting workplace injuries and filing claims. If you miss these deadlines, you may also miss out on valuable benefits.
Statute of Limitations for Workplace Injuries
Under California law, you must complete certain reports and claims within a timely manner after suffering a workplace injury. Most notably, you will find the following deadlines:
- Notify your employer as soon as possible.
- If your injury developed over time, you must notify your employer within 30 days of becoming aware of the injury.
- You must file a DWC-1 form within 30 days of the injury.
- The statute of limitations for a workers’ compensation claim is one (1) year from the date of the injury or illness.
When you are recovering from an injury or illness, meeting deadlines may not be a priority. If you need help with your workers’ compensation claim, contact The Law Offices of Dennis R. Fusi & Associates. We can help ensure you meet the statute of limitations and get the benefits you deserve.